22 Days of Prayer for America – citizens of heaven | residents of earth

We are citizens of heaven, where the Lord Jesus Christ lives. And we are eagerly waiting for him to return as our Savior. He will take our weak mortal bodies and change them into glorious bodies like his own, using the same power with which he will bring everything under his control. – Philippians 3:20-21 (NLT)
__________

In a fragmenting world—with America facing its crucial presidential election and Britain in flux after its recent referendum decision to quit Europe—there is a single heavenly citizenship that alone can reassure us.

Richard Bewes is a preacher, broadcaster and hymn writer. He serves on the board of the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association in the United Kingdom and is the former rector of All Souls Church, Langham Place, London.

Prayer: citizens of heaven | residents of earth

flags-american-christian-pinHeavenly Father: As believing Americans we hold dual citizenship – in heaven and on earth. One is eternal; the other is temporary.

As we face the upcoming presidential election in America, give us Your heavenly, eternal wisdom that we may honor You on earth as in heaven.

+ Like Abraham, we look forward to the city whose architect and builder is God; a city filled with people from all tribes and nations.

  • Keep before us the vision of the heavenly city – that it might breathe new life into our decaying American cities.

+ Come Lord Jesus Christ, we await Your return as Savior; bodily, visibly and universally—to usher in the eternal kingdom. And as we wait, send us Your Spirit.

  • You alone can rescue America, You alone can save America, You alone can raise American cities up from the grave. Our hope is in You alone – work in us and through us.

+ Transform Your people in America into consistent, living witnesses who show others how to live as citizens of heaven in our dying world.

  • Unite Your people in every American city at the foot of the Cross – one Lord, one faith, one baptism, one God and Father of us all.

Heavenly Father: You hold the future of America in Your hands. Raise up every faithful American citizen to vote in the upcoming presidential election for the candidate who will best preserve the freedom of the City from above – that Your power and glory may be displayed for the entire world to see.

+ In the name of the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit – one God forever. Amen.

Morning Prayer: Mon, 17 Oct – Psalm 119:97-104; Proverbs 2:1-6; Luke 2:40-47, 52 ~ listen and learn

+ In the name of the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Amen!

Opening Sentence

I have come to seek You, O God, just as I am I come. I have come to be sought by You, just as I am I come.

I will wait for the Lord. My soul waits, and in His word do I hope.

Reading: Psalm 119:97-104 (NLT)

Oh, how I love your instructions! I think about them all day long.

Your commands make me wiser than my enemies, for they are my constant guide. Yes, I have more insight than my teachers, for I am always thinking of your laws. I am even wiser than my elders, for I have kept your commandments.

I have refused to walk on any evil path, so that I may remain obedient to your word. I haven’t turned away from your regulations, for you have taught me well. How sweet your words taste to me; they are sweeter than honey.

Your commandments give me understanding; no wonder I hate every false way of life.

Reading: Proverbs 2:1-6 (NLT)

My child, listen to what I say, and treasure my commands. Tune your ears to wisdom, and concentrate on understanding. Cry out for insight, and ask for understanding. Search for them as you would for silver; seek them like hidden treasures.

Then you will understand what it means to fear the Lord, and you will gain knowledge of God. For the Lord grants wisdom! From his mouth come knowledge and understanding.

Reading: Luke 2:40-47, 52 (NLT)

There the child grew up healthy and strong. He was filled with wisdom, and God’s favor was on him.

Boy Jesus in the Temple (Christ in the Temple), by Heinrich Hofmann
Boy Jesus in the Temple (Christ in the Temple),
by Heinrich Hofmann

Every year Jesus’ parents went to Jerusalem for the Passover festival. When Jesus was twelve years old, they attended the festival as usual. After the celebration was over, they started home to Nazareth, but Jesus stayed behind in Jerusalem. His parents didn’t miss him at first, because they assumed he was among the other travelers. But when he didn’t show up that evening, they started looking for him among their relatives and friends.

When they couldn’t find him, they went back to Jerusalem to search for him there. Three days later they finally discovered him in the Temple, sitting among the religious teachers, listening to them and asking questions. All who heard him were amazed at his understanding and his answers.
_____

Jesus grew in wisdom and in stature and in favor with God and all the people.
__________

Prayer (Piran – in following, sixth century)

Teach me to follow You, and I will obey Your truth. Always keep me faithful.

+ Lord of the universe, whose hands threw the constellations in all their splendor, and stars in their myriads, into the endless velvet depths of space.

+ God of creation, who fashioned earth and sky and seas, who shaped the mountains, coasts and valleys, seeking out places I could recognize as home.

+ Teach me to see You through the glories of creation. Lift my eyes above the boundaries of far horizons.

+ Ever moving onward, I will seek You, moving nearer, closer to Your beating heart.

Heavenly Father: Draw me close to You, that I might listen and learn. Give me a teachable spirit and write Your Word on my heart, that I might not lose my way. In Jesus’ name.

“Draw Me Close” – Michael W. Smith

Blessing

May the peace of the Lord Jesus Christ go with you, wherever He may send you. May He guide you through the wilderness, protect you through the storm. May He bring you home rejoicing at the wonders He has shown you. May He bring you home rejoicing once again into our doors.

+ In the name of the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Amen!